Retirement prep.

Did you miss the last postClick here to go back.

I’m doing good, I’m still sticking with the brush calligraphy. Maybe this will be my retirement hobby! Lol. {If you have no idea what I’m talking about, check out this post.}

Here’s a piece I did last night:

IMG_3803

I love this poem from 11.22.63. – If you haven’t seen it, get out from under your rock and get your butt on Netflix. You can thank me later. 😉

I bought this marker this weekend and I’m loving it! It’s got a firmer tip on it, which I’ve been wanting. I’ve had my eye on the Tombow Fudenosuke pens; I’ve never used them, but from the videos I’ve seen, I feel like this one is pretty comparable.

Like I mentioned before, I’ve been using the Tombow Dual Brush markers. I have a love/hate relationship with them. I feel like I can’t get as thin of upstrokes with them as I can with the firmer tip, and it ends up looking more like plain cursive writing as opposed to calligraphy. However, I also got this new drawing pad this weekend. It’s larger than what I had been using, It’s 14″ tall by ….??? And I feel like my upstrokes and downstrokes have a more noticeable difference when I’m writing larger. It definitely takes a lot more control though. I’m still a little shaky when writing larger letters.

IMG_3805

Forgive the shadows; too lazy to turn on a better light..

Before, I had just been using graph paper and notebook paper. I felt pretty confident that I was at the point of progressing to unlined paper, but boy was I wrong.. I’m having to draw light lines with a pencil and ruler, but yet they still look crooked to me.. Don’t know how I managed that.

A couple other things I’m struggling with:
1) My spacing. Some of my letters are really wide, and others end up being really narrow. Also with spacing my words on a line. See how I didn’t give myself enough room for “harder” and it ended up scrunched?
2) The direction of my letters. Some end up being at a nice angle, while others come out more vertical. I’ve seen the calligraphy paper that has the diagonal lines; maybe I just need to draw those on my paper too until I get better.

I think once I get the writing perfected, this is going to be my game plan:

  • Practice flourishing, writing letters in different styles, and writing “bubbly”.
  • Learn to draw my words. I’ve done some practicing, but I’m not going to share pictures, because it’s quite the eyesore.
  • Expand into watercolors. Maybe even water color painting, not just writing.
  • Expand into stamping. I feel like this is probably going to be the most expensive and turn me into a hoarder, hence the reason it’s last.

Any tips for the newbie??

-L

 

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!
Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here

 

 

Leave a Reply

