I’ve got noodle legs.

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

I got to work on time today; I’m not liking it one bit. I’m supposed to be here at 7:30, but I normally stroll in between 8-8:30. Model employee right here, folks. But today I was here at 7:45. {Not exactly “on time,” but pretty dang close!} What a drag… Why was I up and functioning that early on a Monday??? Coffee me up! 


How was your weekend? Anything exciting in your world?

C and I went for a hike Saturday, did almost 10 miles. This may not sound like much, it didn’t used to be for me, and it still isn’t for C. He’s one of those that he never works out, but is always in shape. Yeah, he does things around the house, but no more than I do. He drinks more beer than I do, and as far as what we eat, we’re about the same. But me on the other hand, if I don’t use it, I lose it. I haven’t worked out in a while, so I was struggling a bit. I always let C walk in front to catch the spider webs. I mean, what else are fiances for?? And once we got about half way back, he started periodically turning around and asking, “You alright? How you doing? You coming?” and I just kept replying, “I’m slowing down, but I’m not stopping!” And at one point I told him, “I’m out of shape… I take that back, round is a shape!”

We used to go for hikes all the time, but haven’t been in a while – life happens. But we’ve both been missing it, so we put everything on hold Saturday morning and took off to the hammock. It was nice to get out and get some fresh air. We did a trail that we’ve done before, but went quite a bit further on it than we have in the past. And most of the trail was shaded, so it wasn’t 300 degrees. We did about get picked up and carried off by mosquitoes though!

As much as I hate this city, places like this make it tolerable. I’m no tree-hugger, but I definitely see the beauty in nature! I also saw the beauty in a cold shower and couch that afternoon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

{No idea what these ↑ were – they look like something out of Dr. Seuss!}

{Saw a ton of deer! Hard to tell in the second picture, but there’s a deer on the trail right in front of us.}

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So here’s some random info for you – while on the trail, we came upon this tree: img_3827and C picked one of the fruit looking things. He squished it, and this is what the inside looked like: img_3826

Once we turned around and were headed back, I noticed a sign showing that we had been on Tung Nut Trail. Just out of curiosity, I googled, “what is a tung nut?” and it’s actually pretty interesting… So a tung nut, which is what C picked, comes from a tung tree (go figure). The tung seeds, the black ones inside, are pressed to create tung oil, which is used as a wood sealant. C has been wanting to try tung oil on his woodworking. We had a big ‘ah-ha!’ moment. It was a very interesting article, I ended up reading the whole thing out loud to C. You can check it out here.


We also went to the movies this weekend; saw Ben-Hur. C said it wasn’t what he was expecting, but we both really liked it! Then we came home and watched St. Vincent on Netflix. Such a cute movie… Have you seen either of them? What were your thoughts?

I hope you have a great day; mine is already dragging! I’m pretty sure there’s a lunch-time nap in my future!

-L

 

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!
Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here

Leave a Reply

