It’s that time again…

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

…it’s wedding weekend! 

We’re off to check out another venue this weekend! Honestly, I’m pretty sure we’re going to end up picking that first place we looked at, but it doesn’t hurt to check out other options, right?

C and I both took Monday off and are going to take a little mini-vacay. We’re going to be in another art show tomorrow {fingers crossed that we do well!}, then are headed out of town afterwards. We couldn’t decide where we wanted to go though. We talked about places in the state that we’ve never been, but then we ended up deciding we’d just stay in the town where the venue is. Wherever our destination would’ve been, we wouldn’t be getting there until Saturday night. So instead of driving to one place Saturday night then driving again to get to the venue by 2:00 Monday, it just made more sense to stay there. It’s a fun town, and C hasn’t spent much time there, so I’m sure we’ll have a good time.

But holy moly, is it just me or has the price of hotels skyrocketed over the last few years?! For anything other than a roach motel, it would’ve been at LEAST $300. That’s even including places that were a few miles out of town. That’s absurd to me. Especially knowing we would only be there to sleep, wouldn’t be spending time in the room. Of course I checked out the airBNB options before even thinking about hotels, but they were just as pricey.

So funny story… This guy I dated in high school, when we wanted time alone, he’d tell his parents he was staying the night with me, I’d tell mine I was staying the night with him, and we’d get a room at the Best Western. Classy, huh? Haha. But I feel like we would only pay around $30. {And I’m not that old… This wasn’t that long ago.} I looked at a Best Western, and the cheapest room would’ve cost us $490!

We even talked about camping, but it’s going to be cold. We have a little heater, but I just didn’t know that I wanted to play that game this weekend. We ended up with the best of both worlds. One of the campgrounds over there has cabins, and we were able to get a one bedroom for around $80/night. And it’s not too far from downtown. Now granted, it doesn’t have a bathroom {but I got us one that’s close to the bathroom}, and you have to bring your own blankets, but that’s fine by me.

Do you have any fun plans this weekend? I’m so glad to have a long weekend with my honey. I feel like our lives have been so hectic lately, and on top of that, it’s one of those busy times at work for him where he’s doing a lot of traveling. I guess if I were to make lemonade with lemons, I’d say the good thing about that is that I’m nearing the end of school – only four weeks left!!!! – and when he’s gone, it basically forces me to work on school work.


On another note {yall know my thoughts just go all over the place} – I came across this a few years back and saved it. I thought it was perfect; somebody managed to put my thoughts into words in a way that I never could. As I near graduation, I’ve gravitated back to it.

I still may not know what I want to be when I grow up, but I do know that I want to live in a home filled with books and travel souvenirs. And the walls that aren’t covered in bookshelves will be covered with photos of my family and friends. When I leave home, I will be going to a job I love, and I’ll return to a person I love. So that is the dream I am working on.

Have a great weekend,
-L

 

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!
Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here

Leave a Reply

