Time to get fat!

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

Who’s ready for Thanksgiving?!

So I did good this year. My job is always to bring the mashed potatoes {the chilled ones that we can just put in the microwave}. But being the procrastinator I am, I never go to the store until the night before, and by then, they’re sold out. So we haven’t had mashed potatoes at Thanksgiving since before it was my job.. But I went and picked them up Friday night! Three cheers for mashed potatoes!

My aunt’s not going to be able to make it this year – she’s out of town for her aunt’s funeral. So when I asked Nana if there was anything else I could get to help out, she asked if I could get the wine. She didn’t even realize that it was Sunday when she went to get it, and you can’t buy booze there on Sunday.

When C and I first got together, I told him that we could spend Christmas’s with his family, but I wanted to spend Thanksgivings with mine. Over the years, we never really had a set tradition for Christmas and were always at somebody different’s house. For Thanksgiving, we always do the same thing. And in the past, Thanksgivings have usually been less dramatic because that ‘difficult family member’ doesn’t normally come. But guess who’s making an appearance this year…

Before knowing that, I had invited C’s mom and sister to go with us since they didn’t have anything to do for Thanksgiving. I hate to subject them to her, but at least they’ll see that she really is as crazy as I’ve told them she is.

As for that wine… I’m going to make a tag for the bottle, but I just can’t decide what to put on there.
Option 1: “I’m dreaming of a white Christmas… But if the white runs out, I’ll drink the red!”
Option 2: “This wine pairs well with turkey and difficult relatives.”
Cast your votes now!

My sister who lives out of state is going to be there also. I don’t know when I’ll get to see her again, and I wanted to be able to ask her in person, so I went ahead and made up a little basket of goodies to give her and ask her to be my bridesmaid. Then I had to make one for C’s sister once I realized she’d be going. And I don’t know if my other sisters will be there. So just to be safe, I’ve got four baskets made and they’re all going with me tomorrow. And I made little cards to go with them.

img_4316

I’ve been very productive lately… I was also able to get our Christmas decorations up Friday night/Saturday. C has a fit when I decorate {and I decorate for everything!}, but once it’s all up, he always admits that it looks good. So I’ve learned to just decorate while he’s gone on work trips so he doesn’t see the ‘during,’ just the ‘after.’ And the after looks pretty darn good this year if I do say so myself! Granted, there’s decorations all over the house, but here’s a few shots:

img_4282img_4283img_4281img_4284

I’ve always wanted my Christmas tree to be personal and sentimental; not covered with generic ball ornaments from a store. Yes, I have some of those {otherwise the tree would be bare}, but each year I try to add new things. This year we added the “We’re engaged!” ornament, a glittery G {my new last name will start with G}, a little camper that says “happy camper” and a little xbox controller {that one’s all for C!}. I also finished up some hand-made ornaments last night but completely forgot to take pictures! But they’re so cute, I can’t wait to share them with you.

Some of my other favorites are the snowflakes you see and the cross, plus some others that you can’t see in the picture – they were all knitted by my grandma! There’s graduation tassels, ornaments that have been given to us, and some other fun thing like owls and penguins {don’t judge.. I love owls and penguins!}.

As for the wooden “Joy” on the hall table – when my grandfather passed away, the funeral home gave those to the family with a piece of paper explaining that it signifies Jesus, Others, Yourself; Jesus loves You {there’s a heart in the middle of the O}; and we would also say John loves You. I was never very close to that grandpa; I didn’t see him often and he passed away when I was young, but I still put that Joy out every year in his memory.

I could tell you something about every single decoration in the house, but I won’t bore you with it anymore. I just love them all and they all have a story!

I hope you all have a great Thanksgiving tomorrow! Here’s a little joke to help break the ice with those ‘difficult relatives.’ I’ll just be breaking open those bottles of wine, but to each their own!  😉

A young man named John received a parrot as a gift. The parrot had a bad attitude and an even worse vocabulary. Every word out of the bird’s mouth was rude, obnoxious and laced with profanity. John tried and tried to change the bird’s attitude by consistently saying only polite words, playing soft music and anything else he could think of to ‘clean up’ the bird’s vocabulary.

Finally, John was fed up and he yelled at the parrot. The parrot yelled back. John shook the parrot and the parrot got angrier and even more rude. John, in desperation, threw up his hand, grabbed the bird and put him in the freezer. For a few minutes the parrot squawked and kicked and screamed. Then suddenly there was total quiet. Not a peep was heard for over a minute.

Fearing that he’d hurt the parrot, John quickly opened the door to the freezer. The parrot calmly stepped out onto John’s outstretched arms and said “I believe I may have offended you with my rude language and actions. I’m sincerely remorseful for my inappropriate transgressions and I fully intend to do everything I can to correct my rude and unforgivable behavior.”

John was stunned at the change in the bird’s attitude. As he was about to ask the parrot what had made such a dramatic change in his behavior, the bird spoke-up, very softly, “May I ask what the turkey did?”

Count your blessings, not your calories!

-L

 

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!

Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here

 

 

Leave a Reply

