Me and Captain Bubbles.

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

BEWARE: lovey-dovey mushy-gooshey post!
Yes, lovey-dovey and mushy-gooshey are words! 🙂

You know in the movie Fireproof when they talk about how well you know your significant other coincides with education? {If you’ve never seen Fireproof, stop reading right now and get your butt on YouTube and rent it!} Well I know that I don’t have my doctorate degree in C. But I want to! So there’s a few things that I’ve been doing lately to learn more about him, learn to love him better, and strengthen our relationship.

There’s so many things that I’ve been wanting to do, and now that I don’t have homework to fuss with in the evenings, I actually have time to. However, I want to do them all. So when I get home, I clean, read, do crafty things, help C in the shop, apply for jobs, work on projects around the house, etc. But it’s just so much that I’m wanting to cram into just a few hours, that I’m not dedicating a ton of time to one thing.

Anyways, the book I’ve been reading is The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman. 51rv-3xwejl-_sy344_bo1204203200_And it’s actually worked out quite nicely, because this isn’t a book that you want to blow through quickly. I feel like you should read a bit and take time to process it before going on. So I’ve been doing a few pages to a chapter at a time.

Now let me be straight up about this – this book is not meant to have all of the answers; that’s what your Bible is for. It’s to be used as a tool. I like it because it takes both approaches. “If this is how you show love, then…” and “If this is what makes you feel loved, then…” Helps you to appreciate the other person’s language when they’re trying to show you love, as well as show you how to speak it when giving love.

C and I do not speak the same love language AT ALL, but if he does not feel loved and appreciated by me every single day, then I’m not doing my job; so I’m definitely open to any improvements I can make! He thinks the book’s a bunch of hooplah and says that you can’t learn how to love somebody more from a book. Agree to disagree. 🙂


When we were on our seven hour car ride home the other night, it was late and we were both exhausted. C was driving, and I was forcing myself to stay away with him to make sure he was staying awake. However, we were both so tired that neither of us were talking, so the fact that my eyes were open wasn’t making a bit of difference. So I decided to look up car ride questions to help pass the time, and found these from Reinventing Elizabeth: 50 Random Questions for a Family Road Trip, 50 Fun & Random Date Night/Road Trip Questions. I had to filter through them a bit because I already knew the answers to a lot of them. {I mean, who wouldn’t want to lock my “difficult relative” up in a mental institution??} But they sparked some interesting conversations. I also used some from this list.

Funny side note: When I asked him, “If you were a ‘tough guy/girl’, what would your name be?” there was no hesitation at all before he answered, “Captain Bubbles!” Even in my sleep deprived state, I was in tears laughing. This is why I love that man.

And when we got to the Seven Dwarfs question, of course I had to tell him about this:

He called me Dopey! But then saved himself by adding, “before coffee.” I guess I’ll let it slide…

funny-coffee-11

Anyways, back on track…


Third and most importantly, I pray – for him and for our relationship together. Every. Single. Day. One time, after a great night, C came to bed and I was laying there bawling my eyes out. He was super confused as to what happened after I left him and went into the bedroom, so I had to tell him, “I was praying for you and got a little emotional.” It happens..


I came across this on Pinterest, but unfortunately there was no author, so I can’t give credit where credit is due.

 

Lifelong commitment is not what everyone thinks it is. It’s not waking up early every morning to make breakfast and eat together. It’s not cuddling in bed together until both of you peacefully fall asleep. It’s not a clean home and a homemade meal every day. It’s someone who steals all the covers. It’s a few harsh words, fights, and the silent treatment.

It is, despite all of those things, the one thing you look forward to every day.

It’s coming home to the same person everyday that you know loves and cares about you. It’s laughing about the one time you accidentally did something stupid. It’s about eating the cheapest and easiest meal you can make and sitting down together at 10pm to eat because you both had a crazy day. It’s when you have an emotional breakdown, and your love lays with you and holds you and tells you everything is going to be okay, and you believe them. It’s when “Netflix and chill” literally means you watch Netflix, and hang out. It’s about still loving someone even though they make you absolutely insane.

Living with the person you love is not perfect, and it’s hard, but it’s amazing and comforting and the best thing you’ll ever experience. Nothing compares to unconditional love!

11266242_987414534610972_1042784583290209758_n

Horrible quality, but fantastic memory {skydiving}! Can’t wait to experience many more firsts together!

-L

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!
Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here

Leave a Reply

