Do everything.

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

Do you ever hear something and feel like you just got punched between the eyes? The Christian radio station I listen to plays segments from Janet Scott every day. Each day it’s something new, but it plays periodically throughout the day {it’s only about a minute long}. I usually catch them around 4:45 or so, when I’m on my way home from work, and they always seem to just slap me in the face. They’re so impactful! At the end of her spiel, she mentions that you should check out her blog, Chocolate and God. I always want to and mean to, but always forget about it – out of sight, out of mind sort of thing. I finally today pulled it up, because I wanted to share with yall something she said the other day that I thought was funny. I believe this is the blog post from that day. It doesn’t say what she said on the radio, and I’m sure I won’t get it right, but just bare with me.

She said that if you only pray about the big things in your life, it’s an insult to God. If you think he is too busy or doesn’t care about the small things too, it’s like a slap in the face to who He is. He cares about everything with us; big, small, and in between. And honestly, the “big things” to us really are small things to Him.

Does that make sense?

I found it humorous, because I always joke that God probably gets tired of hearing from me because I talk to Him about everything! I say it jokingly because I know that He wants us to pray about everything. To me, it’s just talking to my best friend. I can vent without feeling like I’m bothering Him, and I can just wholeheartedly be myself.

Here lately, I’ve been praying even more than usual, and it’s been the same prayer almost every single time. Has that ever happened to you – where there’s something big going on in your life, and you want to be sure that you handle it in a way that’s in accordance to God’s plan for your life, so you just pray about it nonstop?

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

In the midst of this, there’s been three things that have really stood out to me. Things that I needed. First, this showed up on my Facebook On This Day this weekend:

When you’ve had enough and don’t think you can take anymore, just think, God may be, at this very moment, lifting His hand to signal Gabriel to grab the trumpet. Angels may be assembling, saints gathering, demons trembling. Stay at it! Stay in the race. Stay in the fight. Give grace one more time. Be generous one more time.

Father, You created us and You know everything there is to know about us. You know how discouraged we get at times and how we want to give up the struggles we face. Sometimes it seems as if we have more struggles than strength. We are tempted to quit. When that happens, Lord, remind us to endure for one more day, to be patient one more time, to serve without reward for one more season. Amen.

What peace that brings! The comfort in knowing that this struggle isn’t lasting. What is lasting is the eternal home I’ll have in Heaven once Jesus comes and gets me. The comfort in knowing that that could happen at any time!

Then there’s the song, “Do Everything” by Steven Curtis Chapman. Honestly, I don’t really care for this song, and usually change the channel when it comes on. But I’ve heard it so many times lately and haven’t been able to change it. These lyrics are just gold:

You wonder sometimes, does it matter at all? Well let me remind you, it all matters just as long as you do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you. Because He made you to do every little thing that you do to bring a smile to His face. Tell the story of grace with every move that you make and every little thing you do.

It was very difficult to not put that all in bold. So good! Such a great reminder that even though we may not be where we want to be or doing what we want to do, we are right where we need to be. He is in control and it’s part of His plan. He’s placed us here for a purpose. We are the city on a hill, and we should be showing the world God’s grace in everything we do.

Then this afternoon I was hit with some good ol’ Casting Crowns {I don’t know about you, but my station doesn’t hardly ever play them anymore – why??}

You are who You are, no matter where I am!

-L

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!
Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here

Leave a Reply

