All things lovey.

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

Okay you love birds… Tell me, what did you and your significant other do for Valentines day? 

Do you do the dinner and movie thing? Or the chocolate and roses thing? Or mine and C’s thing – AKA nothing at all.

Or my thing – wait until the 15th and get cheap chocolate!

img_4742

We don’t celebrate the Hallmark holiday. I do usually make C a silly little card, but that’s it.

So this is what I made him the first year:

img_4741

We had been together barely a month and he had just made me watch one of those horrible movies – Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, whatever one this creepy little dude is in.

I don’t remember last year’s card, but this is what I made him this year:

img_4738

I can’t take all the credit – I stole the saying from a card I saw on Pinterest or Etsy or something. But man, check out that stick figure! It’s probably not nearly as funny as I think it is, but I seriously crack myself up.

So kind’ve a funny story {for me at least}… I made the card the night before Vday – what was that, Tuesday? Then all night long I was laughing thinking about it. I don’t mean a little giggle occasionally. I mean keeled over, tears pouring down the face crying. C didn’t know what the heck was wrong with me. On ‘the big day’ I put the card on his truck seat when I left for work.

Now rewind – C has gotten into poison ivy AGAIN. He just had it a couple months ago. The day before Vday, he had called his doctor and was able to get the prescription refilled without having to go back in; but he hadn’t been called to pick it up yet. When we went to bed that night, his arms were covered, but we were hoping that’d be the end of it. Last time he got it on his eyes.

So now back to Valentines day. He calls me around 10:00. When I saw his name pop up, I immediately started cry-laughing again thinking he was calling because he saw the card. When I answer the phone, I hear the most pitiful voice say, “did you see my face?”

Oh shit Lauren, stop laughing!

“No………”

“It’s covered.”

So I knew then that he’d be in a piss-poor mood all day and wouldn’t appreciate the card. He did text me later saying thank you and he liked it. He then proceeded to show it to all the guys at work. They know how gassy he is. They appreciated it.

That afternoon his boss told him to take his computer and work from home the rest of the week. I hate when he does that, because now C’s driving me batty. He gets stir-crazy when he’s on house arrest. At least the card still has me laughing!


So aside from that, I’m super stoked – I’m going dress shopping this weekend!!

Originally the plan was to go Friday, so I had put in for the PTO a few weeks ago. However, you know how it goes when you try to coordinate too many people; it’s like trying to herd cats. So now we’re going Saturday. I decided to still take Friday off though. I’m hoping to quit this year, and I want to use my acquired PTO before I do. So Friday C and I are going to talk to the florist. That is, if he’s done being mopey and pitiful and saying, “I’m hideous!!” every five minutes. I’m also on the hunt for a cake, so I’m hoping we can get that locked down Friday as well.

And in other wedding news, Save the Dates have officially been sent! That’s one more thing checked off the very intimidating list…

We decided we’re going to pay for a template for all the invitation docs. After working together to make the Save the Dates, we decided we’re both way too picky and OCD about that sort of thing. I’m pretty sure we wouldn’t make it to the wedding if we made our invitations, because we’d kill each other first. We had a few close calls with the S.T.D.’s. STD’s…… Close calls….. No no no… Bad abbreviation!


And last but certainly not least, we went back to that church this past weekend. That was our third week and still enjoying it! We’re going to try out the “Newlywed/Nearlywed (young couples)” life group this weekend. I’m really interested to see how it goes. If you remember, I was really looking forwarding to graduating so I would have the time to be a part of a life group and my last church; that’s one reason I’ve had such a hard time moving on from that church. So I’m looking forward to seeing how this church does life groups. I don’t want a sit around in a circle, hold hands, sing Kumbaya, and read verse after verse after verse. And honestly, C may just walk out if that’s the way it is. I was a LIFE GROUP. A group of people with similar core values and beliefs to fellowship with, become friends with, and do life together with.

Are you in a life group/Sunday school? What do you do in yours? There’s not a right or wrong, just a personal preference.


I’ve had this quote in the back of my mind lately. I’ve seen it written a bunch of different ways, just with slight differences, and I’ve also read that Mother Teresa didn’t actually write it. Who knows… Either way, I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

-L

People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway. If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway. If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway. If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway. The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway. Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway. For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway. -Mother Teresa

 

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!
Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here

Leave a Reply

