Charm is deceitful.

Writing this post from an airport, on my phone. Please excuse any grammatical errors. My phone looks like it’s been thrown off a skyscraper; so odds are, if there’s a misspelled word or missing punctuation, it’s because it’s hidden behind a crack and I can’t see it.

I’ve got so much to talk about, and I’m sure I won’t remember it all, but here goes.

First and foremost, why am I at an airport? I had to go to Kansas City, MO this week for a work trip. And let me tell you, I DID NOT want to go.

For one, I’m the type of person that when I go somewhere I’ve never been, I want to actually be able to see the place; get out and explore a bit. I looked and looked for things to do and see in KC and came up pretty empty handed. Seemed like a super boring city.

Two, I had never flown by myself before and I was super anxious about it. I don’t know why, really. Actually, I do; I was most nervous about getting my bag in and out of the overhead by myself. So when I was packing, I’d throw some things in, then bench press my bag a few times to make sure I could.

Three, it was a work trip. I knew I’d be spending long hours sitting in a conference room, and worst of all, the horrible team builder games that always accompany our work trips.

On our trips, going to dinner with the group is not optional. Especially this trip, when other companies paid for the dinners. I had seen the agenda and saw that each day I’d only have about 30 minutes of personal time before having to meet back in the hotel lobby to go to dinner. It would be hard to see things after dinner when it’s dark, so really the only time I had available to get out was Monday. Probably a good thing there wasn’t much to do, otherwise I’d be upset that I wouldn’t have enough time to see it all. I got to the hotel around noonish, and didn’t have to meet for dinner until 5:15, so I took my bags up then grabbed an Uber. First stop was lunch. I was so hungry I could’ve ate the asshole out of a skunk, so I wanted somewhere close to the hotel. I ended up picking a place called the Green Room. Unknown to me when I picked it, it was a hole-in-the-wall. Yall know my love of hole-in-the-walls! It was fantastic!

The next place I went was a given – Boulevard Brewing Co. A year or two ago, C and I decided that when we travel, we always want to try to go to the local brewery, assuming there is one. He travels more than me because of work, so he’s been to more, but I’ve been to a handful. Boulevard was by far the biggest. When we got there, the Uber driver says, “which building?” I know I had complete deer in the headlights when I said, “you’ve got me!”
I won’t go into too much detail about the place {this is already going to be a long post}, but here’s a few pictures:

IMG_4845IMG_4907

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next up was Glace Artisan Ice Cream. They had some pretty crazy sounding flavors on their website, so of course I had to try. Their menu rotates all the time, but a couple of the crazy ones I tried were Brown Sugar & Sour Cream and Chai Pink Peppercorn (with real peppercorns). I wanted to try more, but I hate being ‘that person’ who just never quits. Both of the ones I tried were good, but not something I wanted a cup of, so I played it safe and got Carmel Apple Truffle.

IMG_4856

I then walked about a block down to the public library. I had seen this picture (or one similar) online, and I really wanted to see it and get my own photo op.

Kansas.City_.Public.Library.original.14586.jpg

The books are painted and embossed into the wall. But I circled the entire building and didn’t see them! I asked the Uber driver about it when I got picked up, and apparently I went to the wrong library. Dern.. I did take a quick cruise inside though before heading back to meet for dinner.

IMG_4859IMG_4858

There were only two things left on my list. One was a coffee shop, and after the late lunch, beer, and ice cream, I just wasn’t feeling it. The other was an area of town called Westport, which I had read was a nice little area with shops and restaurants. In my first Uber going to lunch, I had asked my driver about it. He said that technically, the Green Room was part of Westport, but really what people consider as Westport is just a strip of about four bars. No thank you.

IMG_4850

Day one of our conference was as bad as I expected. A lot of sitting, listening to information that really didn’t apply to me, and the games.

Day two was more interesting though. While we did do those things in the afternoon, in the morning, we went to a Ford assembly plant and a Ford stamping plant. One of the perks of being in the car business. Unfortunately you’re not allowed to take pictures in either of them, but it was really pretty incredible. That assembly plant is the largest Ford plant in the country, and one of the only ones that gives tours.

IMG_4863

IMG_4865

Oh yeah, I got to wear one of those fancy vests and glasses!

We then went to see yhe facility that does some of the upfits on our vehicles, which was pretty boring.

But the fourth place we went, another upfit facility, was awesome. Let me take that back… The place itself was boring. We walked in and just saw rows of our new vehicles sitting there, didn’t even see any employees. However, the place was underground in caves.

IMG_4868

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This morning (Thursday), we went to Harvesters Community Food Network and sorted food and packed boxes. My job was on the assembly line adding dried milk to the box. It was not a very exciting thing to do, but I know it was for a good cause. And thankfully I was in the line by some people I had become friends with, so we had fun with each other goofing around. We were there just under two hours and packed 682 boxes, which we were told would be going to the elderly.

All and all, I am super excited to be going home! Kansas City is really a pretty city, and while there were some good moments and I met some great people, I missed my man, missed my pup, and missed my sleep! I love hotel beds, but I only got 2-3 hours of sleep each night I was there, and the night before I left. C always says that he doesn’t get any sleep when he travels for work because his mind just goes crazy thinking he’s going to oversleep and/or miss his flight. I’ve traveled for work before and never had that happen, but I totally get it now! I’m sure it also didn’t help that I was drinking, and I never sleep well when I drink.


There was one thing though that had me wishing I coupd’ve stayed another day. C always makes comments about how we always see singers that I like {mind you, he always ends up liking them too after he sees them}. Well that’s because a lot of the people I like perform at small venues here in town for no more than $15. I have to take out a loan to see people he wants to see. Well one of my favorites, Cory Branan was here a couple weeks ago, and I was so stoked to see him again. However, I ended up with food poisoning, left work early that day, and was just in no mood to go. I was super bummed! Then I find out that he was going to be performing in Kansas City! Tonight… After I’m gone. Damnit man.


While I was gone, I bought something on Amazon for C that he’s been wanting. Since we have Prime, I knew it’d be delivered when I was gone, which is what I wanted. Just a little something to show him I was thinking of him, even though I wasn’t there. I’ve been mushy about this in a previous post, but I feel like if C doesn’t feel loved by me every single day, I’m not doing my job as his fiance. Anyways, I wanted him to actually open it when it got there, so I put his name on it instead of mine. Because I did that, Amazon made me re-enter my card number. I was so happy about that! A few years ago somebody got my card number and went on an internet shopping spree. I hadn’t used that card in months, so I hadn’t checked the account recently. I wouldn’t have even known had one of the stores not called me. So I was ecstatic to see that with just a name change, it was still being shipped to the same address, Amazon took that security measure.


Speaking of stores that are just rocking it in my opinion.. A few weeks ago, C and I were at the mall. And now that I think of it, I don’t for the life of me know why; we mever go to the mall. But as we were walking around, I noticed this sign in the window of Gap.

Let me take a little sidebar here first.. A little while back, I saw a commercial that I had seen before; I believe it was a Maybelline commercial, but I may be wrong. But in the commercial, there are black women, white women, large women, small women, short, tall, young, old, etc etc etc. I remember commenting to C about how I thought it was so ridiculous. People are so dang sensitive these days! Everyone gets offended by so many things! Call me heartless, that’s fine. I just think I’m thick skinned. But you know, they’re so concerned now with trying to appease everyone and include all these minorities in commercials and what-not, but you can’t possibly include all the minorities. What about people with skin diseases? What about somebody with down syndrome? These are people who also ‘look different,’ but you didn’t include them. Whatever, like I said, I think it’s ridiculous honestly.

But back to the sign at Gap. It’s been a little while now, so this may not be the exact one, but it was similar.

C44rhDPUMAEV9-V

C noticed it as soon as I did, and when he turned to me to comment on it, I already had tears in my eyes. I too have vitiligo. Now I don’t get upset that there are more people with vitiligo on TV, ads, etc., but it felt so good to see this! Not because I needed it to feel included, but because that’s the way you spread the word and people become knowledgeable. Before being diagnosed with it, I had never even heard of vitiligo. Have you? I wrote a post about it a while back on Facebook, maybe one day I’ll hunt it down and share it here. Leave a comment letting me know if you’d like to see it.

Here’s an article I came across while looking for that picture, regarding Gap and this campaign. New Gap Ad Has a Powerful Message for Kids About What Really Makes Us Beautiful


Off on another little tangent here – I’ve been doing a lot of scripture reading lately about how to be a Godly wife and what the Bible says about marriage. On the way home from church a few weeks ago, C and I were talking about the sermon, and the conversation lead me to tell to him about something I had read. I came across this picture on Pinterest this week and it reminded me again about the scripture. Decided it was time to share it here.

Wives, submit to your own husbands, as to the Lord. For the husband is head of the wife, as also Christ is head of the church; and He is the Savior of the body. Therefore, just as the church is subject to Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in everything.

Nevertheless let each one of you in particular so love his own wife as himself, and let the wife see that she respects her husband.

Really, it’s all of Ephesians 5:22-33, but I only included those two parts for now. I’m on a phone, remember? This post is already taking me forever to write.

One of the things I really  like about my Bible is it has a bunch of excerpts to explain things in further detail. For verse 23, this is what it says:

Your brain controls everything that your body does. If you want to walk across the room, your brain tells your feet to go and they go. If your shoulder itches, your brain tells your fingers to scratch, and they do it. If your foot moves when your brain doesn’t tell it to, you call that a spasm. If your brain tells your hand to make a fist and your hand lies still, you know you’ve got a problem – something isn’t right. The brain is the boss.

Paul talked a lot about the church – Christians – being the body of Christ. Everyone plays a different part, has a idfferent function. Jesus is the head – the brain. That means that everything you do – as a part of His body – needs to be directed by Jesus. If you do something without Him, it’s spastic and useless. And if He tells you to do something and you don’t or can’t, you know that something in your relationship needs attention. All the parts functioning independently can turn into chaos (picture a chicken with its head cut off). Jesus brings all the parts together in a way that makes sense.

I’ve been reflecting on all of the verses, but the Lord really just keeps putting this one on my heart. I think because I can be quite the control freak, and He knows this is something I’m going to have to work at in my marriage; stepping back and letting my husband be the head of the household.

This then lead me back to Proverbs 31:10-31, what defines a virtuous wife. Again, I’ll only include a portion here, but I strongly encourage you to check it out.

She opens her mouth with wisdom, and on her tongue is the law of kindness. She watches over the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: “Many daughters have done well, but you excel them all.” Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, but a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.

Are there any verses that you continually reflect on in regards to your relationships or how to be a Godly woman? I love C, but I also know that a marriage takes more than just love; it takes work. And it’s something I am going to work at every single day, because I want it to last for the rest of our lives.


I think that’s all I’ve got for now. And in perfect timing, I’ll be boarding soon.

Have a great weekend,
-L

Leave a Reply

