Weekend wrap-up

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

Why is it that on the weekends, I can’t get a good night’s sleep to save my life – but if I have to wake up for work the next day, I get the best sleep of my life?! Initiate coffee IV…

How was your weekend? As much as I just wanted to be a bum this weekend, we were actually rather productive.

C was out of town for a couple days last week for work, and while he was gone, I started looking around the house and thinking. That’s always dangerous… But I just couldn’t believe some of the stuff we had. We needed to get rid of a lot of crap! And other things, I couldn’t understand why we had them in the places we did. But I was good, and didn’t do anything until he got back. So Saturday, we did a serious spring cleaning and purge! Now for the battle of playing tetris to get it all in my car to take to Goodwill.


We also went to a park in town that we’ve never been to. I’ve been really surprised over the past few years to discover so many parks/trails in this town. I mean, I wouldn’t say we live in a ‘big city,’ but it’s not small by any means either. I mean, it’s a university town. How small can it be? Lots of college kids that demand entertainment. But despite how built up it is, there really are a ton of little hidden gems.

We actually went to a park last weekend we had never been to also. That one wasn’t much to write home about. The trail was nothing really, and the park was pretty much just a kid’s playground. We ended up playing on the swings, and holy cow, we’re getting old! We got nauseous just from swinging! When did this happen?! The park did have these little… memorials(?)… which were pretty random, but kind’ve interesting.

I could see this park being a nice place to go on lunch break if you worked in the area, but I don’t see us ever going back.

The one this weekend was much better though. It was very open, no shade on the trail, but it was a beautiful day to be out in the sun. It was really just a bunch of marshy wetlands; pretty for bird watching and gator watching.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


What else have we been up to lately…?

We got a new brewery in town, we checked that out last weekend. The place is super cool, but we weren’t impressed with the beer. They only had four of their own on tap, so we each got a flight with those four, and the only one we really cared for was their Gose. And they didn’t have any Stouts or Porters – at least not on tap – so C wasn’t happy about that. Which is too bad, because the place is awesome, I could see us going there quite a bit had the beer not been a bust.


So does anybody else have a room or area in their house that they just do not like? For me, it’s our laundry room. I mean, I have little projects and things around the house that I’d like to do, but they’re on hold until after the wedding. As is my laundry room makeover. But it’s seriously driving me bat shit crazy. Here’s where we’re at:

IMG_4987

Don’t judge me for the dog blanket on the floor.. 

Since I’ve been with C, we’ve already replaced the flooring in this room and painted the walls {a little too dark in my opinion, but it was C’s choice}. The room is long and narrow. When you first walk in on the left is the pantry with a regular closet door. Past that is all the AC ‘stuff.’ The people who built the house half-assed a lot of things, and this was one. It’s not closed in or anything, just sitting there all big and ugly-like to annoy me. Then is our washer and dryer, which stick out about a foot further than the AC thing. Above the washer and dryer are just basic white cabinets. The shelf on the right is only used for hanging the dog leashes, and we hang clothes when they need to air dry.

I won’t get into what all I’m going to do to the room, that’s another post for another day. But I’ve been trying to think of things to do as a cheap, temporary fix until fixer-upper time. I came up with a few ideas, which would work well, but once the time comes, those temporary items will just get sent to Goodwill. I don’t want to spend $50ish on a half-ass fix to just get rid of it all in less than a year. I’ll just bite the bullet, and when the time comes, put all the money into doing it the way I really want it done.

However, I did put a few dollars into in while C was gone last week. Such a little thing, but I feel like it made a big difference. Those ugly white builders-grade cabinets? First off, I gave them a good scrub with the magic eraser. Holy moly, they were disgusting. Then, I replaced the white plastic handles with some brushed nickel ones. I also replaced the knob on the pantry door with a brushed nickel one. Much better! I also gave all the AC stuff a good dusting. Apparently with them being grey/silver, it hid the dust pretty well! I’m ashamed at how gross they were.. I also added a small plant to bring a little life to the room.

Here’s the befores:

FullSizeRender2IMG_4961

And after:

IMG_4990IMG_4991IMG_4992

That’s all for now. I still hate the room, but the new handles will appease me for a little while, and I’ll just have to deal with it until after November. What do you think? Think the new handles make the ugly cabinets look a whole lot better, or think it barely makes any difference? Or think you can’t tell either way since my photography is so horrible?


C has still been having a lot of issues with his skin. I won’t go into all the details, but he ended up being sent for bloodwork by his doctor. We already knew he was allergic to cats and dogs, but it turns out, the amount that he’s allergic to them is high enough that it could potentially put him into anaphylactic shock. So his immune system is already exhausted from being around the dogs all the time, so any little additional thing is pushing him past his breaking point. He’s got two appointments set to have the swatch tests done to further see what irritates him, then they want him to do the immunizations to help prevent it. Unfortunately, his insurance isn’t going to help, and the tests and shots are very expensive.

We don’t know what we’re going to do about the dogs. I told him that it’d break my heart, but if we need to get rid of them, that’s what we have to do. But that he can’t tell me to get rid of Bruiser and him not get rid of CeCe, that’s not fair. The shots will help, but won’t make the problem go away. And as many shots as he’d have to get, and paying for them in full, we don’t know… It’s a lingering, sensitive topic at this point.

Thankfully, they’d both get good homes. There’s a list of people who have said they want Boog if we do decide to get rid of them, and I’d still get to see him as much as I want. C’s parent’s said they’d take CeCe. To be continued…

Who doesn’t love peanut butter?! 


And the last thing I can think of – remember my filing cabinet makeover? I’ve done another one. I won’t disclose pictures just yet… What do you think? Worthy of a post?

Have a great week,
-L

 

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!
Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here 

Leave a Reply

