Work it real good!

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

Let’s talk exercise, shall we? I’ve finally got my butt back in gear and started working out again after taking a few weeks off, and thought I’d share my current routine. But before I jump into that, I’m just going to level with you. I am super out of shape. Actually, I take that back. Round is a shape.

02cf2a73ec088d8b74a3f0c29fdc0133

That being said, I am not one of those people who enjoys working out, looks forward to working out, or is relaxed by working out. To me, working out is like a one hour long slow, painful death that leaves me wanting to curl up into a fetal position and live out the rest of my days in a ball on the floor.

BUT you know how they say to “listen to your body”? I can’t ignore mine. If I’m not regularly active, my body yells at me. So as much as I dislike it, exercise isn’t really an option. Otherwise, I’m just off. The only way I know how to describe it is I start to feel like a grape that’s in the process of shriveling into a raisin. My entire body will feel cramped up – like when you wake up in the morning and need a good stretch. But stretching just won’t cut it.

That’s probably a good thing. I like food way too much, and would weigh every bit of 400 pounds if my body didn’t yell at me to get my butt off the couch.

I have a gym membership, but I really don’t like going. Thankfully it’s not an expensive membership, because I pay the bill every month, but haven’t been in at least a year. I enjoy the machines and the weights at the gym, I just get really wigged out by some things.

  1. It’s pretty close to work – which is one of the reasons I chose that gym to begin with – so it doesn’t make sense to go home from work then back to the gym. So where do I change into my gym clothes at? I wouldn’t necessarily say that I’m a germophobe, but there are a few things that really bother me; one of which is bathroom floors. So whether I change in the bathroom before I leave work, or in the locker room at the gym, it’s a balancing act to get un-dressed, re-dressed, not let my bare feet touch the floor, and hold my bag and clothes so they don’t touch the floor. I’m just not that coordinated.The_Balancing_Dog
  2. As soon as I walk in the door, I get smacked in the face with a wall of humidity. What is that humidity from? SWEATY PEOPLE. Nope nope nope nope nope. Humidity I can handle. Sweat in the air, I can not handle. I feel like I need a shower before I even step over the threshold.

Solution: I work out at home. I have peace of mind as I change clothes, and afterwards, I can grab a beer from the fridge and hop in the shower. Don’t judge, it’s just my way. {And besides, your body’s still burning calories, so it just cancels out the beer, right?? Hehe.} Then I also don’t have to get in my car all sweaty and gross.

Many moons ago when I was a cheerleader, the only reason I did it was because I enjoyed the dances, not all the “Go-Go-Fight-Fight” crap. So naturally, I’ve gravitated towards dance-style workouts. I still don’t like it, but I can tolerate it.

I’ve looked into Zumba, Jazzercise, etc. and they didn’t really appeal to me, so I went out searching for what I had in my head that I wanted to do. And of course, I found it on YouTube. {I mean, come on, what’s NOT on YouTube?} Which works out perfectly, because I chrome-cast to the TV, move the coffee table out of the way, and I’m good to go! The key is, I have to change and work out as soon as I get home, because if I sit down or start on something else, it’s all over.

What I’m about to share is my current routine, but it changes all the time as I get tired of dances and add new ones. But I always try to keep it to where my list takes me about an hour to complete.

I’ve been following Dance Fitness with Jessica for a couple years now, and you’ll see that most of the dances are by her. But I’ve been gravitating towards some other people too, because most of Jessica’s routines are full-body, don’t usually tackle just one area.

I’ve never been the type of person to care what the number on the scale is, and I’m very comfortable and confident in my body. But my arms are getting a little flabbier than I’d like, and my gut is getting a little bigger than I’d like. That doesn’t make me hate my arms or stomach, but it is something that I’ve acknowledged and want to tone up a bit, so I’ve added some videos to address those areas. I can’t be having bat wings and a beer belly come wedding time! However, I’m sure after the honeymoon and Thanksgiving, my ‘flubber,’ as I call it, will be back with a vengeance!

Side note: That reminds me of this video that I watched recently. Her videos are generally much more drawn out than they need to be to get the point across, and this one is no exception; but overall, it’s got a good message.

I do have these videos saved in this order on YouTube, so they play through without stopping. I go straight through with my only breaks being during the talking at the beginning of some of the videos. At which time I chug a ton of water! So without further ado…

  1. Meek Mill – All Eyes On You ft. Nicki Minaj & Chris Brown (Dance Fitness with Jessica)
  2. Justin Timberlake – Can’t Stop The Feeling (Dance Fitness with Jessica)
  3. Zumba® Toning Routine Worth It – This is the exception to my Zumba comment, and I do use small weights with this one.

  4. Ed Sheeran – Shape of You (Dance Fitness with Jessica)

  5. Rae Sremmurd – Come Get Her (Plank Challenge) | Dance Fitness with Jessica

  6. Britney Spears – Toxic (Dance Fitness with Jessica)

  7. Dance Fitness with Erica | Maroon 5 “Sugar” (ARM routine)

  8. Jennifer Lopez – Ain’t Your Mama (Dance Fitness with Jessica)

  9. Cha Cha Slide Plank (ORIGINAL)

  10. Big Sean – Bounce Back (Dance Fitness with Jessica)

  11. “Getcha Hands Up” || Press Play || Fitness Choreography || Toning || REFIT® Revolution

  12. Little Mix – Touch (Dance Fitness with Jessica)

  13. Booty Bounce Pop Challenge (Dance Fitness With Jessica)

  14. Luke Bryan – Move (Dance Fitness with Jessica)

  15. Cotton Eye Joe Plank Challenge

  16. Disclosure – Latch ft. Sam Smith (Cool Down Workout) | Dance Fitness with Jessica

What do you think? Do you like these? What is your preferred type of workout? Are you like me and only do it because you have to? Or are you one of those who’s relaxed by the feeling of death that accompanies a workout? Lol.

-L

 

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!
Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here

Leave a Reply

