Oh my fiddle!

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

We made out like bandits this weekend! We were back plugging away on the landscaping this weekend, and got everything planted, whoo-hoo! Now we’ve just got to put our flagstone in and get the rock to put in to replace the mulch. But we’re super happy; the hard work is over.

But let me tell you, I’m hurting! I’ve got thorns all in my hands, but I can’t see most of them to remove them. It just looks like my hands have chicken pox from all the inflamed red dots. Then, is it possible to pop a vein? Like how you pop a blood vessel in your eye? I don’t know what I did, actually I do, because I felt when it happened, but one of the veins in my hand got extremely swollen and turned purple. It was a really small area of the vein, but as the day went on, it started looking worse and worse. It ended up being about a quarter-size area that was really dark purple and swollen. It’s looking better today, but the whole bottom half of my hand, above my wrist, is still really sore. It’s going to make for a long day, because holding a pen is almost unbearable. I’ve got cuts all over my arms, my shoulders are peeling from last weekend’s sunburn, one foot is still sore from last weekend {did I mention that I thought I broke my foot?}, and the other foot has got a splinter in the bottom of it, because I broke my flip flop and was working barefooted. And let’s not even start with my back… Needless to say, I look like a 100 year old woman hobbling around.

We finished up around 3:00 yesterday, then headed to town to run some errands. First up was Tractor Supply to get our propane tanks refilled. While we were there, we were looking at their sprayers. Out where we live, there is a HORRIBLE infestation of Caribbean Crazy Ants, and if you don’t treat it, you will have huge mounds of ants all around your house {it’s disgusting} and they’ll get in the house. The neighbors on one side of us pay for pest control, and that’s what we’ve been doing. But when we were at the landscaping neighbors last weekend, he was telling us about a place right down the road from us where he buys stuff and sprays himself, said it works just as well and is significantly cheaper. The proof was in the pudding, we didn’t get any ants on us while we were walking around over there; so C went to get us some. But when he was there, the person working there directed him to something else, said one of the big local pest control companies buys it from them, and that’s what they spray, so he got that instead. It did work really well! Unfortunately, we just have one of these dinky little sprayers. b2d0a0f2-4402-4355-83dd-d21c8a91e76b_1.ca1606ca19f56b8b27e57ea693cf2ff9Now our house isn’t the Taj Mahal by any means, but it’s big enough that trying to spray the property with this is a bloody nightmare. C had found an 8 gallon one on Amazon that he was about to buy for $60. Was going to put it our little trailer that we pull with the lawn mower. But when we were at TS, they had a 15 gallon one for $60. We were going to buy it, but they didn’t have anymore in boxes, just the display one. The woman said we could buy that one, and come to find out, the sprayers were 20% off, that day only, until 7:00. It was 6:00. Now was that meant to be or what?! The more C looked at it though, he realized it didn’t have some connector. We thought that somebody had taken it, but apparently they don’t actually come with the connector. The lady that had been helping us says, “Yeah, that’s so stupid. Just go grab one off the shelf!” So we got a new connector for free. She also gave us a little more off, so we ended up getting the sprayer and connector for $40.

Next stop was Michaels. I had a vase that I needed to get some artificial flowers for – yall know how much I love to have greenery in the house! That ended up not working out though. I had bought the vase for a specific location, but it didn’t end up there. And I just couldn’t make it work in the new spot. So I ended up buying a different one that was already in the pot. I usually like to make my own arrangements, because the pre-made ones always look extra fake to me, but this one looked pretty good, was a good size for the space it was going in, and it was 70% off, so it only cost a couple bucks.

In addition to a lot of plants in the house {both artificial and real}, we also have two artificial trees. I hate them. They’re way too big for the spaces they’re in, they’re in baskets that are falling apart and look horrible, and they’re really faded and just look old. Like C says, “they’re grandma plants” AKA, something you’d see in an old person’s house.

Last weekend when we bought those grasses at Home Depot, they had fiddle leaf fig’s, which I have been obsessed with lately. So we picked one up, as well as a new pot, to replace one of the artificial trees.

About a month ago, I was at Michael’s and saw that they had artificial fiddle leafs, but I wasn’t going to spend $100 on it. In the grand scheme of things, that’s a good price for an artificial tree, but even with my 40% off coupon, it wasn’t something that I even wanted to spend $60 dollars on. But then, when we were at Michael’s yesterday, the fiddle leafs were 70% off! Yeah! So now both of the grandma trees are being replaced.

Next stop was DSW so I could look for shoes for the wedding. My dress should be coming in any day now 🙂 🙂 🙂 and I know I’ll need to have my shoes before I can get it altered, so I needed to get the show on the road. I’ve had my eye on these beauts from Nordstrom {the burgundy ones}, but C would probably stab me if I paid $225 for a pair of shoes that I’ll likely never wear again. I’d probably stab myself.. So I’ve been holding out to see if I’d get lucky during the anniversary sale, but I don’t foresee that happening. So I knew I needed to start looking at other places. I gave myself a $100 budget; which for me, is still a lot for shoes. I only found one pair that I liked at DSW, and they just so happened to be in the clearance! There was only one pair left, and they were exactly my size. They were originally $90, marked down to $50, but were on sale for half off! I don’t like that they’re glittery, but I love the color. They’ve got a hint of pink in them, so they look rose gold. And from a distance, you can’t even tell that they’re glittery. I’m really picky about heels, and these fit everything I have to have it a shoe. Plus they’re super comfortable. There are lots of horrible dance moves to come in these shoes! Haha, kidding. C is making me take dance lessons before the wedding.

Speaking of the wedding, I had a dream about something wedding related Saturday night, so I woke up thinking wedding. Yall, I’m getting married in just over three months!! I can’t wait, but I also had a bit of a panic moment because there’s still so much to do. I really can’t wait for it to be over to be honest with you.

Yesterday, also marked six years since I’ve moved out of my parent’s house. So naturally, I was doing some reflecting on how much has changed since then! Was thinking about the five years I spent living alone in my apartment, just me and B-Man. That was such a great time in my life. I didn’t necessary see that then, but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I did a lot of growing up, getting to know myself, and truly learning to love myself and be confident in who I was as a person.

I was ramen noodles poor back then, so I didn’t have hardly anything in my apartment as far as furniture and decor, until about the last year. But what I did have was two chairs on my balcony that I rescued from beside dumpster. I loved my balcony. It was quiet and had a perfect view of the stars. I spent many many many nights out there – hot, cold, rainy, it didn’t matter – listening to jazz music and just thinking about life. And any time people would come over to hang out with me, we would be sitting out on the balcony. Oh the conversations that it heard. But some really great conversations that I’ll never forget.

In some ways, I almost want to go back to that point in my life. But I couldn’t be happier with where I’m at now. I have everything I’ve ever wanted, and I definitely believe that it’s partly because of that building block in my life, those five years. So I’ll just take it for what it was, a learning experience.

And I’ll leave you with a quote today. This is another one of those little gems that popped up in my ‘on this day’ on Fbook this morning. I mentioned that it was from a book that I was reading, but stupid me didn’t put which book. Oh well, I still like it.

She hated women like Charlotte, women who thought the only power they had resided between their legs. Taylor knew where her power was – between her ears and strapped to her hip. She’d never felt simpering a necessity to elicit a response from the opposite sex.

Have a great week, don’t be a Charlotte. 😉
-L

 

If you liked this post, be sure to subscribe to be notified of new Chaotic Curwhibbles posts in the future.Subscribe

Leave a Reply

