Eye snot.

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

I’m suffering “the crash.” You know when you drink an energy drink and you’re bouncing off the walls, then it wears off, and… crash. Yeah. That’s not my crash, but similar. I am a coffee junkie, but not because I need the caffeine. I could drink coffee at midnight then go straight to sleep, no problem. But something about the heat and the deliciousness wakes me up and makes me human. Up until that point, C lovingly refers to me as “zombie girl.” I start working when the coffee does. Unfortunately, work has been balls to the wall this morning, and I wasn’t able to ease into the day. I had to start working before the coffee did, and now… crash. This is making no sense, is it? I’m a special individual, I know. Maybe eventually I’ll be a morning person and wake up early enough to where I can take it easy, drink my coffee, wake up slowly, then start the day. I always wanted to be a morning person; that peaceful morning routine sounds so nice! But I’m pretty sure that will NEVER happen.

Wow, I’m babbling already.

Well I thought I’d pop on and post a little ‘life update,’ because it’s been a rather busy couple of weeks.

Last weekend C and I went to his parent’s house. His aunt, uncle, and a couple they’re friends with were visiting from Ohio and we wanted to get to see them. The weather was pretty crummy all weekend, so we had to resort to mostly indoor activities. One of the things we did was go to the Salvador Dali museum. We thought it was incredible, no doubt, but don’t know if it was worth the $24pp admission.

I’d share some pictures, but silly me just took all the pictures off my phone. Oops…

We also went to 3 Daughters. They had a Spicy Cinnamon Apple Cider that was FANTASTIC, and I’m not usually a huge fan of ciders. We didn’t stay long though because it was stupid busy so we had to sit outside, and it was hotter than the blazes of hell with about 200% humidity.

Anyways, despite the nasty weather, we had a good time. It was nice to see the fam.

Before going there, I had been dealing with some eye irritation for about a week and a half or so, and over the weekend, it started getting worse – to the point where it hurt to hold my eyes open. Over the following days it continued to get worse. I quit wearing my contacts, but my glasses give me a headache, which was just the icing on the cake. Dry, burning, itching eyes, headache, hurt to have my eyes open. I was miserable. It’s like having a bad toothache, something like that will completely take you out of commission.

On Tuesday {last week} I called to set up an eye appointment, but the soonest they could get me in was Monday {this week}. I had already planned on taking Wednesday off of work, which was a good thing, because otherwise, I would’ve had to call in. I called the doc back Wednesday morning and told them if they couldn’t get me in that day, I’d be forced to find a new doctor. They got me in. Turns out I had a double eye infection. Both corneas infected, eyelids infected, and corneas severely swollen. Between the antibiotic, novocaine, and something else that he put in my eyes, at one point, it felt like somebody had sneezed in my eyeballs. There was slime dripping out, when I blinked, I could see goop stretching from my lower lashes to the upper, and when I wiped the ‘slime’ with a tissue, it was neon green. Seriously.

I still had the original appointment that was set for Monday, so they had me keep that appointment and come in for a follow-up. When I went in, he said all the swelling was gone, but the infection was only about 75% gone, which means I’m still stuck wearing my glasses. Not only do they give me a headache, but they’re too big and constantly falling off my face. Also, the antibiotic {which is the consistency of Neosporin}, gets on my eyelashes, then onto my lenses, so I’m constantly having to clean them. It sucks so bad.

This past weekend, C’s mom and sister came to go with me to pick up my wedding dress! Finally!! I was so happy putting it on again! I also had an appointment to drop it off for alterations. That ended up being a nightmare, but I won’t go off on that tangent. Thankfully, the dress fits me perfectly! All that needs to be done is take a couple inches off the length, put some cups in, and add the bustle. I’ve never had anything altered before, so I didn’t know what to expect, but I wasn’t expecting $500! And that’s a discounted price because of where I bought my dress from – they recommend her for all of their clients, so if you buy from them, she gives a discount on alterations.

I also had a bit of an Amazon headache recently. You may remember, but a few months back I started dabbling in card making. I never intended on jumping all in right off the bat, but rather, wait until I mastered one thing, then add, master that, then add. So I had gotten to the point where I felt like I was ready to move on and was really wanting a die cutting machine. I didn’t want to drop $80 on one though. You may not know this, but a lot of times, if you have something sitting in your Amazon cart for a while, they’ll progressively drop the price. So I had it sitting for a while, watching the price fall, and in the meantime, I cashed in my credit card points {from buying the honeymoon flights} for a $50 Amazon gift card. As soon as I got the card out of the mailbox, I jumped online to place the order, only to find out that they had sold out that day. I didn’t know when they’d be back in stock, so I bought the same one from a 3rd party seller. It was even cheaper, but I had to pay for the shipping, so it ended up being about the same. It was coming from overseas, so I knew it’d take forever to get here, but I was trigger happy..

I ordered it on July 1st, and the delivery date was 7/10-7/25. I had received the DHL tracking number and tried to track it a few times, but the website wouldn’t pull up any information. This happens almost every time something is being shipped via DHL, so I didn’t think anything of it. The night of the 25th, I still hadn’t received it, so I called DHL. I gave her my tracking number, only to be told it wasn’t valid. She searched using my zip code, nothing was in-route to here. Using my last name, nothing. So I was pissed, my package hadn’t been shipped at all.

I started to go through the refund process on Amazon, but that would have required me to return the item, which I obviously couldn’t do. So instead, I contacted the seller. I immediately received an automated response email from Amazon stating that the seller was no longer on the Amazon platform. As you can imagine, that made me even more livid thinking I had been screwed out of 60ish bucks. Have you ever had this happen?

I then went to the Amazon customer service tool, which to me to an IM with computer generated responses. I went through the little multiple choice things and it asked if I needed to speak to a representative, yes. Do you want them to get on this chat or call you? Get on the chat. Immediately there was a person on there talking to me. She verified all the information, put in a claim, and had my refund processed in less than five minutes. So while the situation was a pain, I was very impressed with Amazon’s customer service process. I have since ordered another die cutting machine, directly from Amazon with free two-day shipping, and it will be here tonight! 🙂

Yesterday I had to go to Macon for work. It was not fun at all… My at-work partner-in-crime refuses to stay the night there, so by the time we travel there and back, we’re only left with a few hours to work. There’s just too much to do in that short amount of time. I cut it back to the bare minimum and he was still fussing that I was taking too long. But I got to meet some of the people that I work with every single day, so that was nice. Traveling just takes it out of me though. I was exhausted last night, didn’t sleep very well, then it’s just been craziness today catching up. Like I said, I’ve just crashed. I’m sure I’ll sleep well tonight!

C is traveling a few days this week, and normally when he’s gone, I’m super productive; but I have a sneaking suspicion that I’ll be holding down the couch this time. What’s your favorite show to binge watch? We’re hooked on Shooter right now and we’ve got season two of 12 Monkeys on stand-by, but I have a few shows that he won’t watch with me that I need to catch-up on.

I hope yall are having a great week! It’s time for a 3:00 pot of coffee for me..
-L

 

If you liked this post, be sure to subscribe to be notified of new Chaotic Curwhibbles posts in the future.Subscribe

 

Leave a Reply

