Let’s give this a go…

Did you miss the last post? Click here to go back.

Let me just put this out there first and foremost: I am not a beauty blogger by any stretch of the imagination. I rarely wear makeup; usually only for date nights. On the day-to-day basis, I’m proud of myself if I put on some tinted moisturizer and mascara. Hell, I’m proud of myself if I brush my hair! I’m not a morning person…

That being said, I’ve only ever been been brand loyal with TWO beauty products. But I’m at the point where I’m running out of everything at once, and I noticed that I’m putting some items back on my shopping list! The same product! Winner winner chicken dinner.

So here we go, we’ll start with the my two old favs then I’ll tell you about my new finds.

  1. Makeup remover – For the longest time, I would buy makeup remover wipes at stores like TJ Maxx/Home Goods, Burlington, etc. I didn’t really love any of them. One time when I ran out, I happened to be at Walmart and picked some up there. Being the cheap person I am, I picked up some that were Walmart brand (Equate) and had a ton in the package. Not only were they one of the most inexpensive, but also a lot of bang for the buck. I love these things! They don’t feel scratchy when I rub my face, they remove my makeup quickly and easily with just one wipe, and my face feels refreshed after using them. I also use them just to wipe my face down in the morning and wake me up. I’ve been loyal to these for a few years now, but was recently given a bunch of Mary Kay products, including one of their cleansers. I tried it out and hated it! It did okay at removing the makeup, but it made my face so sticky after using it and I had to use a ton of cotton balls. I ended up throwing the entire bottle away {so I think I linked to the right one, but I can’t promise. Who cares, you don’t want it!} I’m back using my Walmart wipes!
  2. Mascara – If I had to choose to wear just one product, it’s always the mascara. For me, it makes the biggest impact. I really like Clinique products, but I’ve never bought anything from them! But I have family that does… And if you’ve ever shopped Clinique, you know they they give stuff away all the time. If you spend x-amount, you get a little goodie bag with tons of products (one of which is typically this mascara). And I’m always the recipient of said bag! It’s a complete personal preference, but I’d rather my lashes be long as opposed to voluminous. It’s just more natural looking and really makes the eyes pop. This mascara rocks my socks. It makes my eyelashes look super long, it’s not clumpy, and they actually divide the lashes up so you see them individually; it’s not just a row of black on top of your eye. (Does that make sense? I know what I mean, just struggling to verbalize it!) Looks very natural.
  3. Moisturizer – I usually have some tinted moisturizer on hand for the days that I want a little color, but don’t want to wear foundation. This is what I have now {yep, I buy this at Walmart too! No shame in my frugal game!}. I don’t hate it, but I don’t know that I love it enough for it to be repurchase worthy. However, what is on my shopping list to buy again is coconut oil! I’m sure everybody already knows this, but it’s a recent discovery for me; coconut oil is one of those products like Dawn dish soap or baking soda, you can use it for anything! I was thinking about the wedding and how I wanted to go ahead and get started with a full skin care regimen to be sure that my skin will be in tip-top shape, so I decided I wanted to start using a moisturizer regularly. I don’t have dry skin, but a good moisturizer never hurts! Coconut oil, by far, has worked better than anything else I’ve tried. The only downside, and this may be different for different people, it takes hours for it to sink into the skin. And until then, it sits on top looking and feeling shiny and greasy. So I put it on at night, pull my hair back so it doesn’t stick to my face, then I’m good to go in the morning! And my wipes take off any lingering residue.
  4. Hair spray – I’ve never been a big hair spray person. Not because I didn’t need it, but because I hated it! I’ve tried more over the years than I’d like to admit, and just couldn’t find one I like. They were either so “flexible hold” that it literally did nothing at all, or so stiff that a tornado wouldn’t budge my hair. And they all made my hair feel gunky. I discovered this brand by a woman I watch on youtube who swears by it. I gave it one last ditch effort and fell in love! It’s the perfect combination of flex and hold, and I can brush it out at night and my hair still feels clean.
  5. Concealer – Here’s my thing when it comes to concealer. I have super dark circles under my eyes, and I have never been able to get them completely covered with concealer; I have to use a color corrector first. I do own color corrector, but I’ve maybe used it three times. Here’s my beef: If I’m spending money and taking the time to use a concealer for the purpose of concealing dark circles, why do I have to use another product first?! Why do I need to spend more money and take more time using two products, just because the one fails? Just do your job dangit! So unfortunately, I have just accepted that that’s not going to happen. But this concealer is the best that I’ve discovered. It covers better than anything else I’ve tried and I love the applicator! So I will be repurchasing this one.

So there you go. My non-beauty-blogger beauty post. What do you think? Have you used any of these products? Do you love coconut oil as much as I do? Any suggestions?

-L

 

Like posts like this? → Click here to follow the blog and stay up to date with Chaotic Curwhibbles!
Pin with me! → Click here
Do some shopping! → Click here or here

Leave a comment